In 2019

  • Who will win the OT/OTA scholarship?
  • Who will win the Barbara Howard Scholarship?
Scholarship Application Deadline: Friday, April 26th, 2019 at Midnight

VOTA Student Scholarships:  Information and Applications

VOTA awards scholarships to second year OT and OTA students each year at the VOTA conference. Students must be a member of VOTA and apply for the scholarships during their first year of OT school. The OT Graduate Award, and the OT Assistant Award are $1000 each. One other scholarship is also available: The Barbara Howard Scholarship which is $400 with a bonus of $100 if you take a position in the Tidewater area after graduation.

There is one application form for all VOTA scholarships. Students must also have one faculty member complete a faculty endorsement form which will be sent directly to the VOTA scholarship committee. All documents must be delivered electronically to

All documents must be received by Friday, April 26th, 2019 to be considered.

Scholarship winners will be announced at the Annual Conference. Recipients are encouraged to attend the VOTA conference in the fall to be recognized for their award.

Past VOTA Graduate Student Award Winners
2018 - Charis Okada, James Madison University
2017 -
2016 - Sarah Matthew, Radford University
2015 - Corrine Sharp, Virginia Commonwealth University

Past VOTA Assistant Student Award Winners 
2018 - Laura Fielden, Tidewater Community College
2017 -
2016- Kara Fox, Tidewater Community College
2015 - Tatsiana Kacheuskaya, Tidewater Community College

VOTA Barbara Howard Scholarship

Barbara Howard’s commitment to excellence was exemplified in both her professional and private lives. She maintained a quality of life that was an example for all who had the good fortune to know her.

Barbara believed that physical and emotional challenges were opportunities to strive for quality of life. She derived her greatest satisfaction when her technical expertise and human relations skills combined to enhance the quality of life for those with whom she interacted.

Those who knew her admired her compassion and organizational ability. Whether she was communicating with her client, a professional cohort, family, or close friend Barbara exhibited a warmth and genuine concern for the well-being of others.

She shared her time and her knowledge freely. Her active participation in local, state, and national OT associations was indicative of the commitment she had to her profession.

Barbara never rested on her success. She actively sought more knowledge to enhance her ability as an Occupational Therapist. She continually achieved her goals and set new ones in order to provide her clients with the quality services she believed they deserved.

Barbara Howard chose to live and to work by a value system which put the emphasis on “Living with Dignity” and she made the best of any situation.

She was committed to attracting the best and brightest OTs to the Tidewater area. She established a fund to provide scholarships to students, and added a $100 bonus to those scholarship recipients who chose to work in the Tidewater area upon graduation.

Past Barbara Howard Scholarship Winners 
2018 - Carlyn Tillage, Mary Baldwin University
2017 - Laurie Seril, Northern Virginia Community College
2016 - Jamie Guzman, Shenandoah University
2015 - Cortney Halsey, Murphy Deming College of Health Sciences

Click Here for the Application form for all VOTA scholarship
Click Here for the Faculty Endorsement Form

Reminder both documents must be completed and submitted. All documents must be delivered electronically to Jan Emerick-Brothers at by Midnight, Friday, April 26, 2019.

6200 Lakeside Avenue | Richmond | VA | 23228
T: (804) 523-2911
F: (804) 288-3551

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software